A difference of opinions…or worse?

25 Jul

I was doing my usual Monday morning blog catch-up today and I started to think about a serious issue: in this small world of Buenos Aires expats bloggers, there seems to be a difference of opinions, especially when it comes to food. I tend to think that bad food is a given, if I go to X restaurant and have a horrible time, I imagine that everyone else will too.

So, I was suprised when reading “Pick up the Fork”, whose opinion on food I usually respect, give a raving review of Magdalena’s Party. Truth be told, I wasn’t all that impressed with the place, and found it rather greasy and normal tasting.

Or how about the fact that over at My.Beautiful.Air, the Palermo Hollywood restaurant Bio was given a great review, when in fact it’s over-priced for the B-O-R-I-N-G cardboard they try to pass off as food (in my opinion of course).

There can only be one answer folks: the quality at restaurants in Buenos Aires is INCONSISTENT! I have come to believe this as the ultimate truth.

How else would it be possible that just a few weeks ago I swore up and down that I would never eat at another restaurant again unless it was Social Paraiso, and when I went last Saturday, I left thinking “meh.” I mean c’mon guys! The crême brulée had the consistency of under-cooked scrambled eggs!! Give me a break!!

So what are we supposed to do as consumers? Complain? Go on strike? I feel lost in sea of potentially good restaurants gone bad…

4 Responses to “A difference of opinions…or worse?”

  1. angela July 28, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    I couldn’t agree more. I hardly write about restaurants here because so few times have I gone back to one that I loved and left still loving it. They’re totally inconsistent.

    Nice to find your blog. Would be great to meet one day.

    • kvolman July 28, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one! Thanks for passing by, I must have seen your name a million times on other expat blogs and such. Nice to be able to connect!

  2. alice August 8, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Yeah. No idea what the big deal is about Magdalena’s party. Except the fact that we could order mimosas by the pitcher… Hahahaaha. I’ve pretty much given up on the brunch front after 3 years and started throwing potluck American brunches at my house. I miss the going out aspect of brunch but eh… at least the food’s edible!

    • kvolman August 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      I love the idea of potluck brunches!!! I’ve actually thought about setting up a closed-door brunch restuarant, but well, that would require a lot of work and truth be told I’m still really bad at frying eggs. Anytime you want to do a potluck brunch, call me up! I make crazy good bagels.

Leave a comment