Whipped White Chocolate and Orange Ganache Recipe

15 Aug

White Chocolate Ganache FrostingOne thing that Argentina doesn’t do well is cake frosting. The idea of buttercream frosting is non-existent on Argentine cakes, and the most home cooks use is a baño de chocolate, melted chocolate or just whipped cream spread thickly on the cake. Most bakeries and restaurants go a little further and pile on layers and layers of swiss or italian meringue, like in the famous tarta rogel, which will most likely send you into cardiac arrest for the amount of sugar it contains.

Luckily for Buenos Aires, I offer an amazingly fluffy cake with buttercream frosting, which you can order for your birthday, tea party or any time you are in the mood for cake.

And although I love buttercream, I wanted to experiment with other types of frosting, one that doesn’t consist solely in butter and sugar, but that was rich enough to compliment a fluffy cake. I did some research on the internet and quickly decided on a white chocolate ganache, but I still wanted that fluffiness you get from a buttercream. With a little bit more research, I found out that you can change the texture of ganache by whipping it when it’s cool. And so was born the Whipped White Chocolate and Orange Ganache, an ultra fluffy, melt in your mouth type of frosting, that’s light in texture but rich in flavor. A perfect topping for cakes and cupcakes.

Whipped White Chocolate Ganache

Adapted from Joy of Baking

8 ounces (227 grams) white chocolate, cut into small pieces

3/4 cup (180 ml) heavy whipping cream

2 tablespoons (28 grams) unsalted butter

2-4 tablespoons of orange marmalade (to taste)

Place white chocolate into a heat-resistent bowl.

Boil cream with butter and then pour over chocolate and stir until smooth.

Let cool a bit and then stir in the orange marmelade.

Chill until firm, but not solid. Whip until fluffy and use immediately!

4 Responses to “Whipped White Chocolate and Orange Ganache Recipe”

  1. Pamela Foye August 16, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    I want to make this! I wish Josh would eat cake. I can’t eat it all myself.

    • Kelly Poindexter August 16, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      My theory is that Josh is marred from bad supermarket cakes with over-sweetened frosting. Make a cake from scratch with this frosting and I guarantee he’ll change his mind!

      • Pamela Foye August 18, 2012 at 8:02 am #

        Alright, I will give it a try this week.

  2. Rose Taylor September 4, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I definitely want to taste this for myself! Thank you for sharing your creation with us. I can’t wait to start whipping the ganache.

Leave a Reply

