Put some color in your life: Rainbow Cookie Recipe

13 Jul
Rainbow Cookie Recipe

Cookie time at the office…yum!

I don’t have an addiction to Starbucks. I don’t keep a secret stash of beans in my desk drawer. And I don’t go there several times a week. And I definitely did not go there last week and eat a horrible Rainbow Cookie. But, if I did, it would have made me crave a really good Rainbow Cookie, and I would have went home and made one.

If you’re not familiar with a Rainbow cookie, it’s called such because of the oh-so colorful array of plain M&M’s that dot that surface of the cookie (personally, I feel this is the only acceptable use for plain M&M’s which are otherwise an incredibly boring candy.) The cookie itself must be chewy in the middle with a golden, crunchy edge. The absolute sin is to cook the cookie too long and your left with a crispy disk. Que horror!

The dough is basically a chocolate chip cookie dough, so you could go crazy and try adding other things besides M&M’s. I cut up some peanut butter cups and topped half of the batter with them…it was really, really good.

Here’s the recipe, FYI: I used black sugar that I bought in Barrio Chino, so mine turned out a bit darker then they should, but they were still great. Next time I’ll probably just mix sugar and molasses to get a lighter color.

Rainbow Cookies:

2 cups (260 grams) all purpose flour

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup (170 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature

2/3 cup (130 grams) granulated white sugar

2/3 cup (140 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar

1 large egg

1 large egg yolk

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup (200 grams) M&M’s

Preheat oven to 350F (177C)

Whisk together flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl.

In a seperate bowl, cream butter with sugars until light and fluffy. Incorporate egg and yolk and then add vanilla.

Gradually mix in flour mixture.

Use two spoons to form large balls of dough, place them about 2 inches apart on the baking sheet. Flatten them a bit into 2-inch disks and press M&M’s into the top. Bake about 14-17 minutes, rotating the pan once during baking. Edges should be set, but the middle should still be soft! Let cool on baking sheet a few minutes before transfering them to a rack to cool.

P.S. Make these cookies and send me your picture! I took this one at work with my crap cellphone. Sorry, I’m not so cool as to have an iPhone.

Leave a Reply

