Books to read in Spanish when you don’t read in Spanish

24 May

Books to read in Spanish when you don't read in SpanishI devour books. They are my salvation when riding the packed subte every morning. It’s incredibly easy to lose myself in the words and almost miss my stop because of it…I’ll admit that I’ve even cried once or twice while reading in the subte, somehow I always get to the sad parts when surrounded by strangers!

My Spanish isn’t amazing, I started learning late in life, and mostly just for conversation. But reading in Spanish is something I do good, sure I don’t understand everything, but if the book is good, sometimes you don’t need to understand every word.

Here are my top recommendations for books to read in Spanish (even if you think you don’t read in Spanish.)

1. El lector por Bernhard Schlink: The original version is in German, but I happened to have a copy of the Spanish translation and read it after having seen the movie, which helped a lot in understanding what was going on. This was actually the very first book that I read in Spanish, so it has a very special place in my heart ❤

2.Travesuras de la niña mala por Mario Vargas Llosa : Very long novel, but I couldn’t put it down. Love, betrayal, Paris, Peru…absolutely incredible.

3. Mi planta de naranja-lima por José Mauro de Vasconcelos: original version in Portuguese, but I’ve got the Spanish translation. It’s possibly one of the most heart-breaking and tender books I’ve ever read. Absolute gold.

4. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz: This is great book if you speak Spanish and English, as it’s sometimes written in Spanglish, but in a way that makes perfect sense and flows effortlessly.

5. Historias del Diván. Ocho relatos de vida. por Gabriel Rolón. If you live in Buenos Aires, if you’ve ever been to a psychologist and if you like gossiping about other people, you need this book. Now.

Do you have any suggestions for books to read in Spanish?

One Response to “Books to read in Spanish when you don’t read in Spanish”

  1. TL May 27, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Ahhh I can’t wait to check those out!! My first book in Spanish was El Beso de la Mujer Araña,” by Manuil Puig, and it holds a special place in my heart too. It’s good because it’s written like a play almost, and it takes place in the time of the military regiment, so very interesting. Also, if you want to pick up some vocabulary, Fontanarrosa is hilarious. He’s from Rosario and uses a lot of slang—I wrote down every five words and you won’t find the definitions on WordReference! An Argentine consultant is imperative. I got some of my favorite vocab from El Rey de la MilongaFranalear, empomar…. haha good stuff.

    I’m going to go out and look for #2 and #5 on your list ya.

Leave a Reply

