Middle Eastern Food in Buenos Aires

3 Oct

Middle Eastern Food in Buenos AiresThings like hummus, falafel and babaganoush are the perfect comfort food to me. They are incredible filling, delicious, perfect for emergency snacking and suprisingly healthy (shhhh, I like to tell myself that.)

So, the other day when I accidently stumbled upon “Medio Oriente”, a Middle Eastern bakery and grocery store, I was dying to try it out. What I found was a variety of spices, grains (including couscous at a reasonable price!), homemade pastries and all the favorites like tabbouleh, hummus, falafel, laven and the list goes on. They also have a small kitchen and prepare sandwiches and stuff to eat standing up at the counters that line that store. Vic and I chose a sfija, a type of empanada filled with lemony meat and tomatoes, and a falafel sandwich. We ended up going back for another falafel sandwich, after I refused to share mine. I chose an almond baklava for dessert, it was heaven!

All this deliciousness cost around 50 pesos….not bad for a tasty lunch in Palermo!

Medio Oriente

Cabrera 4702

4772-9541

Monday to Saturday 8-20.30

Sunday 8-13

They have delivery too!

Truth be told, as much as I was thrilled to find this place….their hummus just wasn’t up to par. Of course, it’s incredibly difficult to beat my hummus, I’ve never, ever tasted a hummus that was better than mine. For real. So with that being said, I’ve decided to share my recipe with you, so can wow your friends, family and your own tastebuds.

Hummus (ok, ok this is actually Mark Bittman’s recipe 🙂

2 cups drained chickpeas (well-cooker or canned)

1/2 cup tahini

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, peeled

Juice of 1 lemon

salt and pepper

1 tablespoon of paprika or cumin, or to taste

 

Put all ingredients in a food processor and blend til smooth. You can add a bit of the chickpea water if the consistency isn’t smooth enough. Drizzle with olive oil if you like and serve cold. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Middle Eastern Food in Buenos Aires”

  1. Katie October 4, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    I happened to read your post just before I made dinner tonight. I was planning on making breaded, fried eggplant, and I thought some hummus would pair nicely. I have a go-to hummus recipe, but I’m always up for trying something new. This recipe was a hit! My husband and I both loved it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. kvolman October 4, 2011 at 2:23 am #

    Thanks Katie! So glad you both liked it! Next time you’ll have to experiment with putting sun dried tomatoes or roasted peppers in it…it’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

