Alternative Theatre in Buenos Aires

21 Sep

Naturaleza Muerta Buenos AiresAbout a week after first arriving to Buenos Aires, my husband invited me to see a play by a local theater group of which his friends were part. Being the curious, culturally-interested girl that I was at the time I accepted. Unfortunately for me, the play we went to see was a strange musical about the Argentina revolution, or something to that effect, and with my basic Spanish skills and scarce knowledge of Argentine history, I wasn’t able to catch a thing.

So, a few months ago when my husband proposed another play to see together, my first reaction was “NO, thank you.” However, after some pushing and shoving, I conceded. I’m such a good wife. Or a pushover.

Either way, I’m glad I did. The play, “Naturaleza Muerta”, is being shown in the Espacio Polonia in Palermo Hollywood, but it’s not set in your typical cultural center theatre. The actual play is in the kitchen of this PH, and so is the audience. Seated on benches lining the walls of the kitchen, you watch the story of a sad, deceived and frustrated family. You are so close to the scene that sometimes the skirt of the mother swishes at your knees, or you can peer over the shoulder of the father to get a closer look at what he’s painting.

I’ll admit, even with my stellar Spanish, I didn’t understand everything that was going on, but there was something visually stunning and emotional about being in the kitchen of this family, watching the scene unfold as if you weren’t even there.

This play is a must-see for anyone interested in discovering more alternative theatre in Buenos Aires. Check it out and let me know what you thought.

Director:  Claudio Mattos
Cast: Virginia Mihura, Verónica Volman, Julián Smud
Price: $25
Times: Every Friday at 21:00 and 22:00
Place: Espacio Polonia – Fitz Roy 1477 (timbre P)
Reservations: 3965-9549


One Response to “Alternative Theatre in Buenos Aires”

  1. suzanne kagan September 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    I love your blogs kelly!!!<3 <3<3

Leave a Reply

