The Truth About Living Abroad : 5 Things You Didn’t Expect, Part 2

12 Sep

In a previous post of The Truth About Living Abroad : 5 Things You Didn’t Expect, I discussed the dangers of losing your maternal language. In fact, there’s much more at stake than just the language you’ve spoken your entire life…what about your friends, family and loved ones? Do they love you enough love to you from a distance?

That’s right, the second danger of living abroad that no one ever talks to you about is: The loss of friends. I don’t mean to be so negative so early in a post, in fact I don’t feel this is a negative situation, it’s a very real and normal reaction to two (or more) people not being around each other constantly.

Let me give you an example. I have a friend from university, we were inseperable at that time, like partners in crime, two peas in a pod, or whatever other analogy you’d like to use. When I left for France for what I thought would only be 7 months, we still kept in touch, she visited, I called, we sent postcards, made promises…but the truth was that she was living a different life and so was I and after a few years of not returning to the States, keeping the friendship alive wasn’t as easy as it seems.

But just a second! That doesn’t mean that we’re not friends anymore, in fact I still consider her my best friend, and love her to bits-and-pieces. But the relationship has changed, evolved…it’s sad, but it’s what happens.

Fortunately, there is a happy ending to this story, if you decide to go abroad, you’ll most definitely meet dozens of other amazing people who will fill your life with happiness and laughter, even if just for a few months (which is usually the turn-around time with travellers), your life will forever be changed.

So, I dedicate this post to all the people in my life who love me, even though I’m a long way away. I love you all too.

One Response to “The Truth About Living Abroad : 5 Things You Didn’t Expect, Part 2”

  1. Pamela Foye September 13, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    Kelly, I loved and missed you sooo much when you first moved out of the country. I tried to not think about you as often. I didn’t know how I could have a close relationship with you when you were so far away. I think I subconsciously decided to put you at a distance until your time away was over because it was less painful. Unfortunately, your 7 months away turned into years away and I had to learn to deal with the distance between us. Thank god we live in a time now where communicating with loved ones on the other side of the world is as easy as opening up your laptop. Thank god for Skype and Facebook. I am lucky to live in a time where I am able to talk to you every day and stay close to you. In fact, some days we have longer conversations on Skype than we did when you were in college just a few states away.

Leave a Reply

